The most important thing to recognize about a reckless driving charge in Virginia is that it is not a traffic ticket: it is a crime — in Virginia it is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of $ 2500, jail time up to one year, suspension of driving privileges, and increased insurance rates. There are over 20 Virginia Code sections pertaining to reckless driving. The charge can come from a car accident, speeding 20 miles per hour over the posted speed limit, or driving over 80 miles per hour anywhere in Virginia, among other things.
Because there are so many potential causes of a Reckless Driving Ticket or Summons, it’s important to consult a Defense Attorney with the facts of your case. The Commonwealth’s evidence against you may be shaky. Perhaps you respectfully declined to speak to the officer and there is no other evidence of reckless driving besides excessive speed. In that case, a reduction of the reckless driving charge is often possible. Even if the Commonwealth’s evidence against you is strong, a reduction of the reckless driving charge may be possible if you have clean criminal and driving records. An experienced Virginia Traffic Lawyer can help you evaluate your case and determine what strategies to use. The relatively small cost of a traffic lawyer will pay great dividends if you’re able to keep the charge off your record, and prevent dramatically increased car insurance rates. Too many people think they can’t afford a lawyer before they’ve even asked one what the charge would be. If you can afford a car, gas, and car insurance, you can afford a lawyer for your traffic ticket or reckless driving citation. Truthfully, if you’ve been cited with this crime, you can’t afford not to have a lawyer.